Honorary Board

The Honorary Board is made up of distinguished scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators who are recognized leaders in their field. The Honorary Board provides 京东影业影视传媒 with strategic guidance and input on scientific issues of importance to the Society.

Honorary Board members are elected by the Society鈥檚 Board of Trustees to serve three-year terms.

鈥淚 am honored to have this incredible group of scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators helping to guide the 京东影业影视传媒 as we move forward into our second century,鈥 said Maya Ajmera, President and CEO, 京东影业影视传媒 and Executive Publisher, Science News.

鈥淎s the Society continues to grow, we look forward to receiving guidance from the top scientific minds of our time.聽 The Honorary Board is comprised of dedicated leaders who have given their support and commitment to the Society and our mission to inform, educate and inspire,鈥 said H. Robert Horvitz, former Chairman of the Society鈥檚 Board of Trustees.

The Honorary Board:

Frances Arnold, Ph.D.
Linus Pauling Professor, California Institute of Technology and Director, Rosen Bioengineering Center, California Institute of Technology
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

Elizabeth Blackburn, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California San Francisco
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2009

Vinton G. Cerf, Ph.D.
Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google

Raj Chetty, Ph.D.
William A. Ackman Professor of Economics, Harvard University
Director of Opportunity Insights, Harvard University
Science Talent Search 1997
International Science and Engineering Fair 1997

Jeanette Epps, Ph.D.
Aerospace Engineer
Former Ford Motor Company
Former Central Intelligence Agency
Current NASA Astronaut*
(*Dr. Epps is serving the Honorary Board in her personal capacity.)

Walter Gilbert, Ph.D.
Carl M. Loeb University Professor Emeritus and Chair of the Society of Fellows, Harvard University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1980
Science Talent Search 1949

Sheldon Lee Glashow, Ph.D.
Higgins Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Harvard University
Metcalf Professor of Mathematics and the Sciences, Emeritus, Boston University
Nobel Prize in Physics 1979
Science Talent Search 1950

Brian Greene, Ph.D.
Professor, Physics and Mathematics, Columbia University
Co-Founder, World Science Festival
Science Talent Search 1980
International Science and Engineering Fair 1980

John L. Hall, Ph.D.
Professor Adjoint, Physics Department, University of Colorado/Boulder
Nobel Prize in Physics 2005
Science Talent Search 1952

Elissa Hallem, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics, University of California, Los Angeles

Dudley Herschbach, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor, Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1986

Marcian (Ted) Hoff, Ph.D.
Co-Inventor of the Microprocessor
Science Talent Search 1954

Roald Hoffmann, Ph.D.
Frank H.T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters Emeritus, Cornell University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1981
Science Talent Search 1955

Leroy (Lee) Hood, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Vice President and Chief Scientist, Providence St. Joseph Health, Seattle
Co-Founder, Professor and Chief Strategic Officer, Institute for Systems Biology
Science Talent Search 1956

H. Robert Horvitz, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Member, MIT McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Member, MIT Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2002

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.
President Emeritus, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Martin Karplus, Ph.D.
Theodore William Richards Professor Emeritus, Harvard University
Professeur Conventionn猫e, Universit茅 de Strasbourg
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013
Science Talent Search 1947

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
CEO, The Cato T. Laurencin Institute for Regenerative Engineering, University of Connecticut
University Professor;
Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery;
Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering;
Professor of Materials Science and Engineering;
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; University of Connecticut

Tom Leighton, Ph.D.
CEO & Co-Founder, Akamai Technologies
Professor of Applied Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Member, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL), MIT
Science Talent Search 1974
International Science and Engineering Fair 1972 and 1973
Former member of 京东影业影视传媒 Board of Trustees

Alan Leshner, Ph.D.
CEO Emeritus of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Former Executive Publisher of Science, and the Science family of journals
Former member of 京东影业影视传媒 Board of Trustees

Shirley M. Malcom, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor and Director, SEA Change, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Paul L. Modrich, Ph.D.
James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry, Duke University Medical Center
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015
Science Talent Search 1964
International Science and Engineering Fair 1964

Lisa Randall, Ph.D.
Frank J. Baird, Jr., Professor of Physics, Harvard University
Science Talent Search 1980

Henry Samueli, Ph.D.
Chairman, Broadcom, Inc.
Chairman, Broadcom Foundation

David N. Spergel, Ph.D.
President, Simons Foundation
Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation Emeritus, Princeton University
Science Talent Search 1978

Edward O. Thorp, Ph.D.
Author, Beat the Dealer: A Winning Strategy for the Game of Twenty-One and A Man for All Markets
Science Talent Search 1949

Frank Wilczek, Ph.D.
Herman Feshback Professor of Physics, Center for Theoretical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Founding Director, Tsung-Dao Lee Institute, and Chief Scientist, Wilczek Quantum Center, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Distinguished Origins Professor, Arizona State University
Professor of Physics, Stockholm University
Nobel Prize in Physics 2004
Science Talent Search 1967

Gayle Edlund Wilson
Founding Chair and Chair Emeritus, COSMOS, California State Summer School for Math and Science
Science Talent Search 1960

George Yancopoulos, M.D., Ph.D.
Board co-Chair, co-Founder, President and Chief 京东影业影视传媒 Officer, Regeneron
Science Talent Search 1976

Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D.
Professor, Baylor College of Medicine
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Texas Children鈥檚 Hospital

In Memoriam

Angelika Amon, Ph.D.
Kathleen and Curtis Marble Professor of Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute